Clicking for Gold…click click click

Posted: July 24, 2012 in Thoughts and Commentary
Tags: , , , , , ,

I have read somewhere that 90% of the people who create websites do it to make money.

Each day I get on my computer and start clicking. I look for anything and everything I can find that is entertaining, interesting, news worthy and such.

My purpose I believe is to find things to share. Tell the world about what I saw. Something like gossip I guess. Though there is also another motive behind my information seeking. Monetary gain. That’s right I said it. I blog, make videos, and surf the web for money.

Now the truth is I don’t make much. A few pennies here and there and that’s it. I look at other sites and blogs and compare what they do to what I do and wonder…”are they making anything?” I doubt that they are making a lot, unless they are connected with some large company that has hired them to be the online promoter.

So why do it? Why continue to blog, create videos, maintain websites, setup affiliate programs? I guess because deep down I believe that there is Gold in the internet. I think that this tool will be my way to a better life, a little more cash in my pocket. A lot less debt. Though the reality is…there is no gold. That’s depressing to admit.

So who is really making money online. According to financial reports some of the big dogs are; Amazon, Google, Ebay, Yahoo, Facebook, Twitter. I’m not going to list them all. Some of the money made is from the consumer, some from advertisers and some a little of both.

My point is this. I either continue to help the big boys make more money or I just bag it all together. I probably won’t bag it all together, just because I like dreaming about the big pot of gold. Yet I do have a different mind set while I am doing what I love to do best. Clicking away on the internet. Until next time…click click click.

Gold Computer Mouse

The Golden Mouse Seeks Treasures

Comments are closed.