Paying to Play The Facebook Business Model of Farmville

Posted: May 27, 2012 in Social Media
Tags: , , , , ,

Farmville a game very popular on Facebook, is pulling in the people and the advertiser.

My partner of 19 years loves the game on Facebook known as Farmville. She plays that game daily. She has about 200 plus friends on

Facebook and almost all of them are Farmville players.
The other day I was doing some research regarding the value of Facebook as an entertainer. I was looking at status updates and noticing

that not very many people were responding to things I would post. Yet it was not only what I posted, it was also happening, (or not

happening) for others in my circle.

So I began to ask, why is it that my partner always gets people on her page to interact? What is making her so popular amongst her crew?

Well as she and I talked the answer came to me “FARMVILLE”. It’s the games. Facebook created a game that has pulled in a group of

people that live for the game.

So I looked into more facts about my theory. I did a search on Fritolay to see how many people like them. Their just chips and snacks

right.
Well to my surprise over 2 million people on facebook like them. Then I find out that Fritolay offered a truck to the Farmville

community in exchange for a LIKE. So that leads me to believe that Fritolay paid Facebook or someone else to be a part of this game so

that they could attract a fan base. HMMM. Pay to Play.
So I wondered if Fritolay had not done this would they still have as many likes as they do? I seriously doubt it. This type of marketing is

done all the time.
I bring this up to make a point to the indie artist community and those that follow or don’t follow them. Big business can afford to pay

for attention. They can buy the ads, the audience and what ever else they choose.

If you are looking to pull the attention of the masses to you as an entertainer, you are going to need to understand these tricks and

others and duplicate them on a low scale budget. Not every indie artist can afford ads, promotions, or services that will help get their

name out. Therefore you are going to need to find a way to bring the attention of the audience your way using similar methods.

The reality of it all is if you want to make it to the top of the list QUICKLY you are going to have to Pay in order to Play.

Comments
  1. […] music industry paints a flashy picture. Yet the IRS don’t care if you Pay to Play as long as you Pay the Tax […]

  2. I like this internet site so considerably, saved to favorites . 76223

  3. Thanks for blogging and i enjoy the blog posting so no public comments.,,,,,,,,,,, 964511

  4. I was reading some of your content material on this internet site and I feel this internet internet site is genuinely informative! Maintain putting up. 767261

  5. Living Green says:

    You really should take part in a contest for among the very best blogs on the internet. I will recommend this internet site! 602316

  6. Exceptional post even so , I was wanting to know in case you could write a litte far more on this subject? I’d be quite thankful in case you could elaborate slightly bit far more. Thanks! 863306

  7. logistica says:

    Some genuinely good stuff on this internet internet site , I it. 969638

  8. URL says:

    I like what you guys are up too. Such smart function and reporting! Carry on the superb works guys I?ve incorporated you guys to my blogroll. I feel it will improve the value of my internet internet site 838115

  9. Apple now has Rhapsody as an app, which is a great start, but it is currently hampered by the inability to store locally on your iPod, and has a dismal 64kbps bit rate. If this changes, then it will somewhat negate this advantage for the Zune, but the 10 songs per month will still be a big plus in Zune Pass’ favor.

    • quepeaz says:

      Thanks for visiting my blog. I do appreciate you leaving comments. I do a lot to keep this blog going, if you want to promote your business please be responsible. I don’t spam others and I don’t want it on my blog. I understand the desire to attract an audience. Thanks,

  10. Link exchange is nothing else but it is only placing the
    other person’s webpage link on your page at proper place and other person will also do similar in support of you.

    • quepeaz says:

      Thanks for stopping by my blog. It’s always good to have other bloggers stop by. I will be sure to do the same for your blog.